June 15, 2009 at 4:42 pm 2 comments

Lemonade Day is a program that empowers youth to take ownership over their lives, teach them entrepreneurship skills, and bridge those gaps between the communities that we live in. It gives dreams and aspirations to youth of the Twin Cities, to become people like Richard Copeland of Thor Construction, and Dave Anderson of Famous Daves. Lemonade day is about bringing each other together; it is about the American spirit of brotherhood, and community. It is the American dream of realizing that I truly have the ability within me to live out my dreams of using the talents, skills that I have, doing it to the best of my ability through one lemonade stand at a time!

My name is Krystle, I am Intern at Prepared 4 Life an organization in Houston that started the program Lemonade Day (LD)

this is me with one of the youth I worked with in Mexico!!

this is me with one of the youth I worked with in Mexico!!

(lemonadeday.org) to help inspire youth, and empower them! I was born and raised in Rosemount, Minnesota, and moved to Texas when I was fourteen; currently I am student at the University of Houston, studying Human Development and Family studies with a minor in Nonprofit Certification.  I love working with people, youth, and families!!! They are my passion!! It is my mission this summer to start Lemonade Day right here in Minneapolis and St.Paul! To be able to have this opportunity to bring (LD) to the Twin Cities is so exciting for me, just because I was born there and love the area!! LD is a fun, free, program where youth learn how to go about building a business, and the necessary tools that go along with it, such as opening account, financing, investing, paying back their investors, and giving back to the community!! Lemonade Day has impacted the youth here in Houston in powerful ways, that it has left lasting imprints on their lives and made all the difference in taking the right steps towards powerful change! Lemonade Day has and can become that one stepping stone that youth so desperately need to build confidence and self esteem to become the leaders for our future generations.

It is my hope that LD will spread like a wild fire here in the Twin Cities, and that the people in the Metrpolitan area will be united through Lemonade Day, great communities will be built through this amazing program, and that the youth of Minneapolis and St. Paul will know that this event in their lives made all the difference!!

I would love to hear from yall, if you have any ideas, comments or feedback, You can follow me on Twitter at LDDayTwinCities or email me at Krystle@lemonadeday.org. Hope yall have an amazing day!!! 🙂

Entry filed under: Minneapolis/St. Paul.

Lemonade Day and LA! Lemonade Day San Francisco + Bay Area!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alejandra  |  June 15, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Nice work my dear sister in Christ, your are our inspiration
    any help? let me know
    Alejandra Cassis–Honduras

    Reply
  • 2. Lucas Hosmer  |  June 16, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Cool Krystle! Let us know if we can be of any help……love you!

    Nicole

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos









More Photos

