Me and Lemonade Day Denver

June 15, 2009 at 3:40 pm Leave a comment

Hello Everyone! My name is Kasey. I guess I should tell you a little bit about myself before I get started on what this is all about.

Kasey (and Lemonhead)

Me (and Lemonhead)

I am a native Houstonian and a senior at the University of Houston. I’m studying advertising and in my spare time I like to exercise (though I can only speed walk), watch HGTV and drive my old, red CRV (that I will drive til I die) all over town to find new and interesting places to shop for unique trinkets and jewelry. I have a boyfriend named Daniel, a dog named Prissy, though I call her Love, and I still live with my parents — me in a nutshell. ☺

This summer I decided I wanted to do an internship. I have a year left in school and I wanted to get some “office job” experience under my belt. I’ve always worked in retail so this is a little different for me. I wanted to do anything having to do with sales or advertising but I also wanted to do something I cared about or would make a difference, therefore pickins were slim and right at the end of the school year I stumbled upon an internship with an organization called Lemonade Day.

I honestly had no idea what it was, but I did a little research at http://www.LemonadeDay.org and found out that it’s a completely free, community program that has set out to empower youth of all ages to start and run their own business by encouraging them to set goals, set a budget, find an investor, and pay them back at the end, pick a successful stand location, etc.. The numbers astonished me given that I’d never even heard of this before. The first year (2007) they had 2,600 lemonade stands set up in Houston alone (we are in 4 cities total) and in 2008 there were 11,232 stands in Houston.

Here are some kids who won our contests in Houston for Best Stand and Most Successful Business last week.

Courtesy of ABC Houston -- Click to read the storyCourtesy of ABC Houston — Click to read the story

The more I work in this office, with these people who are so dedicated and passionate about this program, the more dedicated and passionate I get about it. I hope that over this summer I am able to convey this love for the program and what a great thing this is for children and families to get involved with.

You can follow me on twitter at LDayFunDenver and also through my blog here.  My email is Kasey@lemonadeday.org.  I’d love to hear what you all think as we go along so I hope to hear from everyone soon! ☺

–Kasey

Entry filed under: Denver.

Lemonade Day in Phoenix Atlanta!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


