This Week on Lemonade Day

June 19, 2009 at 10:03 pm Leave a comment

As my third week as the Washington DC Lemonade Day Intern comes to an end, I realize how great the impact of Lemonade Day can be.  On the Washington Business Journal today, I have learned the unemployment rate in Washington DC is 10.7%.  However, the irony to this negative piece of news is that kids who will be participating in Lemonade Day next year would realize even more how hard their parents work to provide them with necessities.  Given the hardships families are enduring all over our wonderful nation, there are still lessons to be learned and children should not be left unburdened in the process.  With hard times, we all have to be responsible and P4L and I hope Lemonade Day teaches this invaluable lesson.

With Washington DC in mind, I have realized how much I miss its community-oriented culture that allows for all the great events taking place there.  Spending four years in DC before coming to Houston for my MBA at Rice University, there were times I felt there were not as many happenings in the city.  Thinking back now, I do miss events such as “Screen on the Green” no matter how excruciating the summer humidity was.   The reason to experience through the harsh weather was the openness Washingtonians shared among themselves.  Due to this reason, I truly believe they will be very welcoming to Lemonade Day next year.

Before I leave the office to enjoy the weekend, I would like to add a note about my wonderful colleagues.  We all clearly share the same sentiments.  At the same time, when any of us are down, we pick each other up and move on together to the next challenge.  Without them, I would not find my daily workings as fulfilling, even with the fact that we are working for the common good of our country’s children.  Next week, no matter what new issues come our way, I will be glad to experience them with the great individuals I work with.

Entry filed under: Washington D.C..

something interesting… What does Lemonade Day Mean…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos









More Photos

