Happy 4th of July!

June 29, 2009 at 8:29 pm Leave a comment

Boy, the 4th of July sure snuck up on me this year!  As I just realized that my favorite holiday is this coming Saturday, it got me thinking about why I always look forward to the 4th.  As a child, the 4th of July was a special day for many reasons.  In my family, it always started with fun and sun at a family friend’s pool party.  After hours of play, it was great to wrap yourself in a beach towel and eat a hot dog with potato chips off a paper plate.  Of course there was dessert, a dripping ice cream cone than ran down your arm if you didn’t eat it fast enough.  Then, as the sun started to set, the anticipation would set in as everyone packed up the cars with blankets and bug repellant, ready to drive to see fireworks.  I remember so vividly lying on the roof of the car, looking up at a sky full of colorful lights.  What a glorious holiday.  Growing up in Texas, I learned from a young age to have pride in my state and my country.  You can tell this is something still being instilled in children today.  On the Lemonade Days gone by, many of the stands have had patriotic themes, such as the one pictured below.

LD 042509 306

The entrepreneurial spirit and the ability to make your own way with a little hard work and ingenuity are what make America great.  Lemonade Day is the epitome of this idea.  Today, as I reflect on the 4th of July coming up, I am proud to be involved with this amazing program that promotes all the aspects of the American dream.   “Building the American dream, one lemonade stand at a time,” says it all.  I hope Dallas/Ft. Worth will truly rally behind this program and make it as big a success in DFW as it has been in Houston the last three years.

Entry filed under: Dallas/Ft. Worth.

OneCause Local Phoenix area blogger

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


