The American Sense of Community

July 10, 2009 at 9:45 pm Leave a comment

This past 4th of July weekend, I had the privilege of visiting Austin for the first time with a friend flying in from NJ.  At first, this seemed like just an opportunity to see what the buzz was all about in this city.  I was looking forward to what friends recommended to go and see such as the lively 6th street area.  My NJ friend, however, being the enthusiastic tourist that he is, dragged me to see the Texas State Capitol.  Having spent four years living in Washington DC, notable for its museums and national monuments, this seemed like another trip I was indifferent about.  But, to my surprise, it was not at all what I expected.

As I entered the Texas State Capitol, I was just admiring the grandiosity of this edifice.  As I walked more to the center of the building, I was struck by all the visitors that were there on the 4th of July, admiring the past governors whose portraits were being displayed.  I expected this tourist site to be empty, given that many were flocking to see the fireworks in Austin.  However, I spoke to some of the visitors who were all paying equal respects to all past governors, whether it was past Democratic governor Ann Richards or past Republican governor George W. Bush.  I did not hear any political agenda from any of these individuals.  This was a day where we were all Americans in equal standing regardless of our political opinions.  We were one united community on our Independence Day.

Lemonade Day has this community feel to it as many people come together to support our youth through various means.  Many organizations with different agendas unite to put this educational program together.  Such a phenomenon makes me very proud not only to be an American but to be a lone individual who sees others put aside personal differences to do something wonderful for our kids.

Entry filed under: Washington D.C..

Your Future Today… Texas Rivalry

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


