Texas Rivalry

July 13, 2009 at 7:41 pm Leave a comment

So when I moved to Houston from my hometown (Irving), I had no idea that any rivalry between Dallas (referring to the Dallas/Ft. Worth Metroplex) and Houston existed.  However, once I started introducing myself to my fellow students, many of whom are native Houstonians, I became aware.  Since I felt I should know the roots of this rivalry, considering I was right in the middle of it, I decided to read up on the subject.  I found that much of the literature on the subject was written in the 80s.  The following quotes pretty well summarize my findings:

“To folks in Dallas, Houston is a loud, boorish, blue-collar place, overwhelmed by nouveau riche high rollers and overrun with Cadillacs and pickup trucks. To folks in Houston, Dallas is a dull, snobbish, white-collar town, dominated by banking and defense interests, and overrun with Rolls-Royces and Mercedes.”

“The Best Little Rivalry in Texas” By Sam Allis;Kurt Anderson

“The best description I ever heard was that Dallas is piccolos and souffles and Houston is a steak-and-trombone town,” said Joe Frantz, a Texas historian at Corpus Christi State University. ”They don’t really get in each other’s way very much. It’s more a matter of ego.  Each one wants to be No. 1.”

Since I have personally found both cities perfectly delightful places to live, I take no side in this rivalry.  But I felt it might be a neat way to ignite the fire of competition among any Dallasites who feel strongly about this.

In the initial year of Lemonade Day in Houston, the city exceeded its goal and had approximately 2,600 registered lemonade stands.  The goal set for Dallas/Ft. Worth is 10,000 in its initial year.  It will take a lot of hard work and committed involvement from Dallasites to reach this goal, but I know it can be done.

Please help spread the word and get as many people involved in Lemonade Day Dallas as possible to reach and exceed this target, even more so than Houston has in the past.  Let’s show Houston (and the world) that Dallas cares about its kids and its community!

Dallas

Houston

VS.

Entry filed under: Dallas/Ft. Worth.

The American Sense of Community

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos









More Photos

