A Personal Experience

July 20, 2009 at 7:50 pm 1 comment

In the past couple of weeks, many people have expressed an interest in Lemonade Day Dallas/Ft. Worth!  I am so pleased with the response.  I knew everyone would step to the plate and bring this amazing program to the children of Dallas/Ft. Worth.  For those of you still on the fence, you will be in good company if you get involved.  As I have mentioned, it takes everyone to make Lemonade Day truly successful.  Whether through volunteering, donating, spreading the word, or simply buying lemonade on May 2nd, let’s show our kids we care.

In a conversation I was having about Lemonade Day, I was stumped by the question, “Did you ever have a lemonade stand?”  After thinking long and hard, I realized I had not.  The thing that did pop into my head was when I participated in a fundraiser for my gymnastics team.  I remember trying to figure out (strategizing) how I was going to sell as much as possible, who I was going to sell to, where I could find customers, how I would set myself apart from other salespeople, etc.  (I believe the product we were selling was wrapping paper or gummy bears or something to that effect.)  Many kids would send the order sheet to their parent’s work place to be passed around the departments, but unfortunately my parents’ places of work did not allow this.  However, after much thinking, I devised a plan.  This was a few years back, when smoking during break times was a common occurrence.  I decided to hang out in the break area at my parents’ work places and catch customers there.  This was not inside the building and therefore was not breaking the rules (My mother made me ask to be sure).  I ended up selling many products, and people were impressed by my creative way of finding and targeting customers.

Selling

I learned many lessons from that experience, many of which are still with me today.  In fact, this may have contributed to me being in business school as we speak!  It’s those real-life experiences that solidify learning.  Let’s give the children in Dallas/Ft. Worth a chance to have one of these experiences!

Entry filed under: Dallas/Ft. Worth.

A Culture of Educational Activities in the Nation’s Capital Teach them NOW!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Emilie Campbell  |  May 2, 2010 at 1:09 am

    I read several of the Official Lemonade Day, especially the one re: Dallas/Ft.Worth. What a wonderful way to help children in many ways. I do not have a website and do not want to become a part of this blog. God Bless!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


