In Memory of My Aunt: Lilly Lisa’s Lemonade

May 10, 2010 at 3:39 pm Leave a comment

I’m Lilly Lisa Klingbeil and I’m a kindergartner at Hose Elementary School in Crawfordsville, IN. On Sunday, May 2, 2010, I participated in Lemonade Day by having a lemonade stand in my yard.

I advertised my lemonade stand by putting 100 May Day baskets, that I made by hand with my mom, on doorknobs in my neighborhood. In the May Day baskets was an invitation to my lemonade stand.

I decided to make pink lemonade and to have the lemonade be FREE with donations accepted and to be donated to the American Cancer Society in memory of my Aunt Lisa, who died of brain cancer when she was 27 years old. I never got to meet my Aunt Lisa, but I am named after her; my middle name is Lisa.

I ran my lemonade stand with the help of 3 of my friends: We made $222.05 in donations!

This weekend my parents, my Nana (Lisa’s mom) and I are all going to Appleton, Wis., where my aunt used to live. We’ll walk in the Sole Burner, which is Appleton’s largest walk/run event sponsored by the American Cancer Society to raise funds for research, education, advocacy and patient and family services.

My Uncle Greg Retzlaff, who was married to Lisa, and my cousin Kaitlyn Retzlaff, Lisa’s daughter, head up a team of walkers through my uncles work, Thrivent Financial for Lutherans. And I am so excited to be able to hand in the donations I made at my lemonade stand to my Uncle Greg, who is going to personally match the funds. Thrivent will match his donation, turning my $222.05 into $666.15!

Thanks to my friends and generous neighbors in Crawfordsville, I can help save lives with the donations from my lemonade stand,

-Lilly Lisa Klingbeil, Entrepreneur, age 6

Entry filed under: Lemonade Day Learning.

How 6 Kids Rocked the Block in Sugar Land, TX Start Your Lemonade Business with the U.S. Chamber of Commerce

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


