Will Donald Trump Let Shea Set Up A Lemonade Stand?

February 2, 2011 at 9:31 pm 5 comments

Meet Shea – she’s a 6 year old student who has an awesome plan for her Lemonade Day stand. Her mom has agreed to let me tell you her story. I’ll share her journey over the next 3 months. If you have a story to share – drop me a note at mystory@lemonadeday.org

Over the holidays Shea’s mom and dad took the opportunity to teach Shea that the holidays were more than just presents and that there were lots of children that didn’t receive presents which really struck a chord with Shea. She started to ask about ways she could help beyond donating personal items. That’s when Shea decided to do a Lemonade Day stand to help others. Shea knew about  Lemonade Day because she had participated in Texas last year through the YMCA afterschool program but the family has since relocated.

Since that decision every day is spent planning her lemonade stand following the Lemonade Day workbook:  stand design, location, who’s dressing as lemons, aprons and who’s coming to her stand.  In developing her business plan Shea had some great ideas on investors,  location and marketing so she decided to write some letters to a few people including Donald Trump, Ellen DeGeneres and Barack Obama. [She was fortunate enough to visit The White House and even pet the First Dog, Bo last month.]

Shea just finished her letter to Donald Trump and sent it over to us. I just had to share. She’s still choosing her charity but is leaning towards The Twin Towers Initiative which honors the 72 police officers killed in 9/11 and raises funds for the new Law Enforcement Museum in D.C.

And yes, she did catch a couple of episodes of The Apprentice.

Dear Mr. Trump,

My name is Shea.  I am 6 years old.  I am in first grade at Elementary school in Virginia.  I am a quality student.   I am writing to you because I am learning about money.

On May 1, 2011 I am going to be part of National Lemonade Day and have my very own lemonade stand.   My dad is building it.  My mom is helping me with stuff like how much money I need from my piggy bank and finding the perfect spot for my stand and asking The Giant to donate lemons and writing to you.

Can I set up my lemonade stand at your golf course in Sterling Virginia?  I want to make a lot of money.  I pinky promise to pay back everyone who helps me.  They are called investors.  I will put some money back in my piggy bank.  I will donate the rest.

I can’t get a cell phone until I am10 years old but you can call my mom’s phone  XXX-XXX-XXXX.  I get home from school at 4 o’clock.  I have gymnastics on Tuesdays and Thursdays but I will tell my mom that I need to talk to you when you call.

Your future apprentice,

Shea

With future entrepreneurs and philanthropists like Shea, I’m so excited about our future. Tune in next week to check in on Shea’s progress. And if you are Donald Trump reading this – we hope you allow Shea to set up her Lemonade Day stand on your golf course.

Entry filed under: Lemonade Stories. Tags: , , , .

Penn State + Google help Lemonade Day! Shea – The Next Apprentice.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanne Higgins  |  February 4, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    I am Shea’s Grandmother and so proud of her. When a 6 year old wants to help other people, that says it all. I will help in anyway I can. Please Mr. Trump, let her set up her stand on the golf course.

    Reply
  • 2. Donielle Mills  |  February 8, 2011 at 12:28 am

    What an amazing and thoughtful young lady! Mr. Trump, someone like this can only benefit your golf course by adding beauty and compassion, along with the sweetness of the lemonade!! Please don’t let that opportunity slip away for Shea, the people she is trying to help, or for your golf course!!

    Reply
  • 3. Anna mc  |  February 8, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Dear Shea, I miss you. Will you come see me? Are you going to have snacks with your lemonade? Are you going to have a real cash register? Are you going to ride in a golf cart. Anna (Texas age 6)

    Reply
  • […] agreed to share her story with everyone. We’ve been posting her savvy business journey as she asks Donald Trump to set up her stand on his golf course, chooses to donate her proceeds to a charity dedicated to the memory of fallen police heroes, […]

    Reply
  • […] Official Lemonade Day Blog Business is Good! Skip to content Home ← Will Donald Trump Let Shea Set Up A Lemonade Stand? Sorry, Mr. Trump. It’s not personal. It’s business. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos









More Photos

